6 Best Certifications for Nurses to Have in the Emergency Room


As a nurse working in the emergency room, it’s important to have the right certifications to ensure you can provide the best possible care to your patients in critical situations. 

Certifications not only demonstrate your expertise and knowledge in emergency care, but also show your commitment to continued learning and advancement in the field. 

This article will go over the best certifications for nurses to have in the emergency room, including the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN), Critical Care Registered Nurse (CCRN), Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), and stroke certification.

The Importance of Certification for Nurses Working in Emergency Care

Certifications are essential for nurses working in emergency care. Emergency care is a high-stress, fast-paced environment that requires quick thinking, careful assessment, and expert intervention. 

Having the right certifications not only demonstrates your proficiency in handling these situations but also ensures that you are following the latest protocols and guidelines. Additionally, many employers require emergency room nurses to have certain certifications, making it an essential part of your job requirements.

Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN) 

The Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN) certification is specifically designed for RNs working in emergency nursing. This certification demonstrates an advanced level of knowledge and expertise in emergency nursing, focusing on topics like cardiac, respiratory, and neurological emergencies, trauma, environmental emergencies, and more. 

In order to become a CEN, you must have a current and unrestricted RN license in your state, at least 2 years of experience working in emergency nursing, and pass a certification exam administered by the Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN).

Critical Care Registered Nurse (CCRN) 

The Critical Care Registered Nurse (CCRN) certification is for nurses working in critical care areas such as ICUs, CCUs, and emergency room units. 

This certification demonstrates comprehensive knowledge and skill in managing critically ill or injured patients, including advanced patient care, interventions, and monitoring. 

To become a CCRN, you must have an active RN license, at least 1,750 hours of direct care of critically ill patients, and pass a certification exam administered by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN).

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification is a program that teaches healthcare professionals to respond to cardiovascular emergencies. This certification covers advanced interventions for patients in cardiac arrest or other life-threatening conditions. 

To become ACLS certified, you must pass a course that covers topics like pharmacology, airway management, rhythm interpretation, and electrical therapy, and successfully demonstrate the skills required in a hands-on evaluation.

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) 

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification is specifically designed for healthcare providers who care for critically ill or injured children. This certification covers the latest protocols and treatments for life-threatening emergencies in children, including respiratory distress, cardiac arrest, and shock. 

To become PALS certified, you must complete a course and pass an exam that covers topics like basic life support, pharmacology, and management of specific pediatric conditions.

Stroke Certification

Stroke education certification is a program that teaches healthcare professionals to recognize and respond to stroke emergencies. 

This certification covers the latest protocols and treatments for identifying and treating strokes, including the use of diagnostic tools and interventional procedures. Stroke education certification courses are typically offered by professional organizations, hospitals, or universities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here